The Village Board of New Glarus meets the first and third Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Village Boardroom located at 319 2nd Street.  Meetings are open to the public and are also video taped.

View Board Videos

The Village has standing committees comprised of only Village Board members and various boards, committees and commissions comprised of Village Board members along with private citizens.

Committees and Commissions Members: 2018-2019 Appointments 

 Nomination Procedure for Running for Village Offices 

Candidates for local office in the Village of New Glarus can begin circulating Nomination Papers on December 1, 2018 for the 2019 Spring Election.

In 2019, the Village President and three Trustee terms will be open.  Residents of the Village that are interested in running for one of those seats should contact Village Clerk Lynne Erb at (608) 527-5973 or to obtain a "Candidate Packet" and information on the procedure.

The candidate can then begin collecting signatures of qualified electors beginning December 1, 2018.  Candidates need to obtain not less than 20 signatures of qualified electors an no more than 100.  Please keep in mind that the Circulator of the Nomination Papers must personally present the Nomination Paper to each signer.  Since Village Trustees are elected "at-large", a citizen of the Village could sign Nomination Papers for no more than three different candidates for Trustee.

In order to be placed on the ballot, the Nomination Papers, Campaign Registration Statement and Declaration of Candidacy must then be filed with the Village Clerk by 5:00 p.m. on January 2, 2019.  Once received, the Nomination Papers will be reviewed for sufficiency.

Village President: Roger Truttmann
Term Expires: 4/2019

Trustee: Peggy Kruse
Term Expires: 4/2019

Trustee: Anthony Edge
Term Expires: 4/2019

Trustee: Barbara Anderson
Term Expires: 4/2019

Trustee: Petra Streiff
Term Expires: 4/2020

Trustee: Chuck Phillipson
Term Expires: 4/2020
Trustee: VACANT
Term Expires: 4/2020







New Glarus was established as a Swiss Colony in 1845 and incorporated as a Village in 1901. The Village has retained its Swiss charm with Alpine-style architecture, ethnic festivals and Swiss delicacies. The Village is located in beautiful Green County in south central Wisconsin. We are just 28 miles south of Madison and 17 miles north of Monroe on State Highway 69.


  319 2nd Street
    PO Box 399
    New Glarus, WI 53574

(608) 527-2510

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed