Property tax bills are mailed to property owners' mid December.  The Village Clerk's Office can assist you with any questions or concerns regarding your property tax bill or payment.

The property taxes are collected by the Green County Treasurer's Office for both installments (1st installment due January 31st and 2nd installment due July 31st).  Receipts will be returned by mail only if a stamped self-addressed envelope is included with your payment.  Please be sure to return the bottom portion of the bill with your payment.

The Green County Treasurer's Office hours are Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  An after-hours drop box is located on the east door of the Green County Courthouse.  The offices will be closed on December 24-25, 2018 and January 1, 2019.

Please make checks payable to: GREEN COUNTY TREASURER at
1016 16th Avenue, Monroe WI 53566
Phone: 608-328-9435

PLEASE NOTE: Payments can no longer be dropped off at the Village Clerk's Office or Utility Payment drop box.  

Tax payments will also be accepted at the following banks. Please check directly with the bank for business hours.

  • Union Bank & Trust in New Glarus and Brooklyn
  • Sugar River Bank in New Glarus, Brodhead, Belleville, Monroe and Juda
  • Monona Bank in Belleville and Brooklyn 
  • Associated Bank in Monroe
  • Greenwoods State Bank in Monticello

Credit/Debit card or e-check payments are also accepted by Green County at a nominal fee.  Visit their website at and use the Quick Link: Pay Taxes Online.  A fee of 2.39% is charged for credit card payments, a flat fee of $ 3.95 for debit cards and $ 1.50 for e-check.


Property Information

Tax amounts and payments of taxes can be viewed online through Green County's website.  You can also print out a receipt of payments received.  Amounts will be updated in real time as payments are posted.

Follow the link:

Select Village of New Glarus for Municipality and type in either your parcel number, street address or name then click on Find Now button  to get your information.


Lottery Tax Credit

To qualify for a Lottery Tax Credit you must own a home in Wisconsin AND occupy that home as your primary residence on January 1 of the year in which the tax is levied. If the credit was not applied and you feel you are entitled, please contact either the Village Clerk or County Treasurer's Office.  More information on these credits can be found at and type the name of the credit in the search engine.

First Dollar Credit

The First Dollar Credit is a property tax credit provided taxpayers under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20.  The credit is calculated using the Equalized Value School Tax Rate and has a Maximum Credit Value, similar to the Lottery Credit. The credit is allowed on all real estate parcels that contain an improvement and one taxpayer may receive more than one First Dollar Credit. The credit is reflected on the line above the Lottery Tax Credit on your property tax bill and is divided equally between the two installments.  If you do not see the Credit reflected on your tax bill and believe you are eligible, please contact either the Village Clerk or County Treasurer's Office.


New Glarus was established as a Swiss Colony in 1845 and incorporated as a Village in 1901. The Village has retained its Swiss charm with Alpine-style architecture, ethnic festivals and Swiss delicacies. The Village is located in beautiful Green County in south central Wisconsin. We are just 28 miles south of Madison and 17 miles north of Monroe on State Highway 69.


  319 2nd Street
    PO Box 399
    New Glarus, WI 53574

(608) 527-2510

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday: Closed